Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411643 Posts in 69394 Topics- by 58449 Members - Latest Member: pp_mech

May 14, 2024, 06:38:04 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsMovable Forest - a perspective based puzzle game
Pages: [1] 2 3
Print
Author Topic: Movable Forest - a perspective based puzzle game  (Read 6582 times)
alemke
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: July 22, 2012, 06:48:51 PM »

Hey everyone I’m pretty new to TigSource but I’ve already learned a lot just from browsing around checking out peoples games. This is really an amazing community. I introduced myself here if you are interested.

Once Upon a Time… There was a Movable Forest is a perspective based puzzle game born out of Global Game Jam 2012. We’ve been in development off and on since then, hoping to expand on our game jam ideas, and eventually release a full game.

I’m a big fan of animated movies especially traditional hand animated ones, with their use of multiplane environment shots. The main idea for the game was inspired by

. Unity, the program we are working in can essentially be used as an endless digital multiplane camera set up.

Right now I am working on the art style and the music style. My goal is to have these work together and feed off of each other. I absolutely love games like Machinarium and Sword and Sworcery , which manage to do this really well.

I’ll probably be posting mostly screenshots, animations, and eventually music.

This is my first game so I’m looking for any and all feedback especially on the style. One of the things Im worried about is having overly complicated environments. This can really screw up a good puzzle game by making the puzzles visually confusing.

Videos:

Trailer is up!

This is a short teaser trailer that we created for our submission to Fantastic Fest. Sadly we did not make it in, but there's always next year!