Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411275 Posts in 69323 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 05:46:11 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsForgotten Star Wii Homebrew
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Forgotten Star Wii Homebrew  (Read 5147 times)
Cthulhu32
Level 6

Brawp

View Profile WWW
« on: September 03, 2008, 07:25:35 PM »

Hey everyone, thought I'd post this somewhere in case it becomes vaporware. I'm hoping to compete in TehSkeen's Wii Homebrew coding contest which ends November 15th. I was thinking of a Knytt style game, I really enjoy the simplistic art style (and I can mimic it because I'm a much better coder :D )

So first with a quick mockup of the first scene you see, a little sprite test, and a drawing I did on my DS via Colors!

DS drawings:

Cthulhu32
Level 6

Brawp

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2008, 07:49:53 PM »

And now a quick design idea of how to incorporate the Wii with this game:

Platform:
   Nintendo Wii using the Devkitpro installer on Linux, libogc and the Wii library functions. I'll package the Elf for the Homebrew Loader so anyone with Zelda Wii hack and Homebrew Channel can run it.

Development Environment:
    Ubuntu 8.04, The Gimp, Code::Blocks IDE for C++ development, Musagi by DrPetter, Patriot 2GB SD card and Wii of course :D

Control scheme:
   Nintendo Nunchuck is used to move the main character. Controls are left moves left depending on how far you press it, right same thing, and Z trigger allows you to jump. Up and Down are used primarily for climbing ladders.