Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411421 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 18, 2024, 10:28:09 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Why has unity3d become so popular?
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6
Print
Author Topic: Why has unity3d become so popular?  (Read 20219 times)
IndieEmma
Level 2

View Profile
« on: August 25, 2012, 08:21:18 AM »

I don't get it, why would you pay for an engine or have a half engine. 
Can someone enlightened me?
Superb Joe
Level 10

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2012, 08:28:02 AM »

well, as a computers expert, and a man knowledgable in all things "e" (that stands for electronic, if you put that as a prefix to anything like e-dog or e-phone (careful you MUST consult a patent lawyer!!!) it sounds very cool and futuristic, but it also means im an expert in it and can remove your pet's ovarian cysts or put your phone in a bag of dessicated coconut after you accidentally drop it in the toilet (but i can't promise not to eat the coconut afterwards)) it seems to be because it's good and useful
ஒழுக்கின்மை (Paul Eres)
Level 10

Also known as रिंकू.

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2012, 09:00:09 AM »

because it's like game maker, but for 3D, and not as dated. i feel like a lot of the huge crowd of people who used GM (about half a million users) gradually became frustrated with GM's lack of updates and limited capabilities, so they switched to something else which was also easy to use but much more capable

this also applies to people who used MMF2, etc. -- the same process occurred there (almost all the unity users I know used to be either GM or MMF2 users)