Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411529 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58433 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 29, 2024, 01:50:57 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGamesUniball, still going strong
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Uniball, still going strong  (Read 1722 times)
shockedfrog
Level 0

View Profile
« on: September 14, 2008, 08:35:01 AM »

Uniball - http://www.uniball-central.net - is a multiplayer online future sports game. It's been running for a long time - I've been playing it for 8 years, it started as Xpong maybe a decade ago? - and it's the only online game I've ever played that's actually, on average, gotten better over time. The game still sees occasional development, which manages to add useful new features without interfering with the core gameplay.

Two modes are supported by the game - hockey (your typical get-the-ball-in-the-goal game), and dodgeball (which nobody plays). Other variations have been invented by the players, such as racing on specially designed maps, and speedball, where players must hold their fire button to shoot as soon as they catch the ball. Most games are small - 2 teams, 2v2 or 3v3 - but some maps support up to 4 teams, and larger game with 20 or even more players are possible if you can find enough players.