Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411504 Posts in 69373 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 04:22:52 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityJams & EventsCompetitionsSportsSki Joust
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Ski Joust  (Read 3976 times)
marnaouf
Level 0

View Profile
« on: November 04, 2012, 02:27:06 AM »

What do you get when you mix skiing, ragdoll physics and violence: Ski Joust. Basically, you make a ski jump and then have to fight a fellow skier in mid air using your skis and ski poles. I know the game would work in 3d but I have no experience with 3d and barely have any time to work on the game as is so its going to be 2d. For controls, you control when the player jumps (timing), his in-air rotation, his arm movement and his jump height (you can slightly move up and down in air); even though all of this is still subject to change.

Now, the problem is I don't have a lot of free time at the moment because of school. I'm doing IB, if any of you know it Sad and so I don't usually find a lot of time to work on my games during the week. I am going to try my best to finish the game before the deadline but if I don't I think I'm still going to try and finish it.

I plan on using as3 and most probably flashpunk. For the physics I plan on using a physics engine. I'm currently about to try out nape to see how it works with flashpunk. I'd really appreciate advice on which as3 physics engine is best especially with flashpunk.

This is my checklist of things I plan on adding as I develop the game:

• Get the ragdoll physics working
  • Implement the basic game (Hopefully I can finish this by the end of the week)
  • Particle Blood and Gore
  • Unlockable characters with their own unique weapons
  • My own unique graphics and sound