Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411640 Posts in 69394 Topics- by 58449 Members - Latest Member: pp_mech

May 14, 2024, 07:39:25 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignRPG Disability
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: RPG Disability  (Read 3745 times)
matwek
« on: December 05, 2012, 07:06:55 PM »

When I’m not making indie games I work full time as a Support worker for the severely disabled and today at work I was thinking about disabled people in games. Now before I let this topic turn into a preachy debate about the lack of disabled people in games or discrimination like that I wanted to take it down a different path.
In the real world disabilities are recognised in many different forms but in video games people follow a different set of rules and I wondered how disabilities could be portrayed in different types of games in unique ways.

For example imagine an RPG character that can’t level up in a world where everyone else can, how would that character feel? How would the NPC react to him?
That in turn got me thinking about the various “No Level up Walkthrough” guides that people have written for many different RPGs, just to give themselves a challenge. Could a game be designed with that already in mind? And what other Game disabilities could be explored?

Looking more at the RPG genre you could have a character that was born with his Max HP and Max MP reversed so that when he takes damage he can’t perform certain spells and when he casts spells he loses health.
Or maybe a character with a time bar that won’t fill up without help from his team mates.
Or someone who can only carry what they have equip rather than magically carry a massive collection of loot, because they have no inventory.