Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411517 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58431 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 27, 2024, 11:00:54 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperPlaytestingWorduel - a multiplayer real-time word game
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Worduel - a multiplayer real-time word game  (Read 1113 times)
sonictooth
Level 0

View Profile
« on: February 13, 2013, 08:05:17 AM »

Hello everyone!

I am a beginning game developer and I'm prototyping a multiplayer word game tentatively titled "Worduel". The idea is very simple: you and your opponent take turns spelling words, and the first who runs out of time loses (more detailed instructions are in the actual game page). It's currently an HTML5 browser-based game, and I'd love to have feedback regarding the core game idea - I know that the, ehr, "production values" are actually quite low, but I would like to know if the basic concept is fun.

http://www.worduel.com

Thank you!
Nebjezus
Level 0

Freelancer Programmer. Avid Coffee Drinker.

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2013, 12:13:32 PM »

Great little game you've made. There were a few things I noticed while playing, that are probably more relevant later on in development, but here's what I got:

-It was a bit unclear as to when it was my turn to enter a letter. Because the game is all about reaction time and quick thinking, you need all the information to be delivered to the player as quickly an effectively as possible. This is definitely something to keep in mind when designing the UI.

-It was unclear that hitting the space button reset the word. Again, I think this comes down to making sure that all information that is important to the player is being conveyed effectively and concisely.