Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411433 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58418 Members - Latest Member: Pix_RolleR

April 20, 2024, 07:14:41 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallForum IssuesArchived subforums (read only)CreativeWritingQuestion in Fantasy Fiction writing
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Question in Fantasy Fiction writing  (Read 3052 times)
malicethedevil
Level 0

Damned Irish Devil

View Profile WWW
« on: February 27, 2013, 09:03:15 PM »

As a writer I have pondered the idea of one of the issues I have seen people have with most fantasy fiction writers. The strange names. Understandable that it's a different culture, race, etc. but sometimes it only takes away from a story (I feel). It seems as I keep hitting the "name barrier" and in so I am pulled from the story a little so question posed: Do you think that the naming conventions of fantasy fiction take away from the story?

Graphic and Video Production
Fringe Games, War Command
Evan Balster
Level 10

I live in this head.

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2013, 09:39:25 PM »

Honestly I think names are a very useful part of the worldbuilder's toolset.  Creators of deep, interesting worlds in fiction spend time developing culture, politics, geography, ecology... language and naming is sort of a centerpoint for the humanities and I think it's inevitable that it'll be traversed quite a lot when working hard at the others.