Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411528 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58433 Members - Latest Member: Bohdan_Zoshchenko

April 29, 2024, 01:10:58 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsOctoRhythm - Leap Motion Casual Rhythm Game
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: OctoRhythm - Leap Motion Casual Rhythm Game  (Read 3152 times)
Yanko
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: March 05, 2013, 11:45:03 AM »

Name: OctoRhythm
Team: me + 1 musician (Leonardo Perantoni)
Platforms: PC and Mac (needs a Leap Motion Controller)

- Store link
- Soundtrack

Introduction

Hey everyone! I've been a lurker for quite a while, but as I'm in the middle of developing a new game for the past month or so, I thought it'd be a good way to start posting!

So, my name is Yanko and I'm an Indie dev hailing from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. I'm currently working on a game for the Leap Motion (http://leapmotion.com). For those who don't know, it's a device that is about to be released that is basically a "kinect for hands" - it works incredibly well and their developer support is great - I got my dev unit for free and they're constantly giving me feedback.

OctoRhythm

So, I wanted to start a demo project that would be easy to do. Obviously, the first game I thought about was Rock-Paper-Scissors, but that just wouldn't stick for too long. So I ended up having this idea of a weird mix of Simon Says, Jo-Kem-Po and rhythm game. In the first day, this is what i had:

The gameplay worked like this: the computer would show you a sequence of symbols. You had to memorize them, and then do them again with your hands to the beat. If you got everything right, a new symbol was added; if you got 1 or more wrong, you'd lose a symbol. If you got to 0 symbols, you lost.

The next day, it evolved to this:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CuZk7rJ-3GI
Then this: