Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411486 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58427 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 08:50:53 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperAudioI'm a Musician but a Newb Coder using Game Maker. Need Help!
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: I'm a Musician but a Newb Coder using Game Maker. Need Help!  (Read 1418 times)
aberrantmind
Level 2

View Profile
« on: March 05, 2013, 12:34:54 PM »

Hopefully this is the right place to ask... anyways!

My gear music-wise: Audiobox USB, and microKORG synth/vox.
For coding: I've got Game Maker Standard Edition(the newest version)

I know how to jam, and lay down tracks, and followed the manual  and have tried placing wav files for normal sounds. these do not seem to function however.. The file is good, it plays in the preview when I load a new sound into the game. But when I use either the sound DnD, or the audio_play_sound(index, priority, loop) function in several places where it should work. all attempts so far has failed to produce sounds. I've also run normally, debugged, and as a clean build.

I've read in several posts that the method built-in to GM is junk(though this may be in reference to older releases far as I can tell), so any advice on how to code some music and sounds into Game Maker would be great.

aberrantmind
Level 2

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2013, 01:24:01 PM »

update: on further attempts, the wav file I made, although it plays in the preview when loading the sound, will not play in game. However, I've tried using the sound assets that came with GM in place and it works. So not sure why but the wav file I'm using won't work. I can't find any restrictions on it. Is there maybe a conversion tool?

petertos
Level 3

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2013, 01:26:41 PM »