Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411430 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 20, 2024, 12:24:14 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)Need to decide on scenery and style for shooter artwork
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Need to decide on scenery and style for shooter artwork  (Read 3879 times)
Hajo
Level 5

Dream Mechanic

View Profile
« on: October 13, 2008, 02:29:47 AM »

In a moment of nostalgia, I decided to try my hands on a little shmup, in memoriam of a game that I once liked to play.

As a programmer I first focused on the technical aspects of the project, maps, ships, scrolling, player input, collisions and all that. Then I realized that I'll have a whole lot of options to present this to the player.

And now I feel a bit clueless. Starting with more technical questions like resolutions (320x200 like the old games, or use the capabilities of nowadays hardware?), the style (cartoony, realistic, surreal ...) the scenery (planet surface, space, submarine, tunnels of some sort) I feel puzzled, and uncertain which path to take.

I guess it is not that helpful to post such blurry questions here, but maybe someone has experiences with making shmups and can tell me what worked for you, or what didn't?

I can pixel to some extend, do some types of cartoony graphics, and if needed I can model and render realistic/surreal things. I'm just terribly undecided which path to go.

(Please forgive me the questions if they look stupid to you. I'm not a game designer, but mostly a programmer. That's why I ask for help with design, even if it's only graphics design and not game design.)

Per aspera ad astra
december
Level 1

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2008, 12:40:43 PM »