Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411281 Posts in 69324 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 09:50:31 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Game Maker For Beginners: Part II
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6
Print
Author Topic: Game Maker For Beginners: Part II  (Read 136261 times)
Derek
Bastich
Administrator
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« on: November 12, 2008, 10:47:15 AM »

Game Maker For Beginners: Part II

Main Topics: Inheritance, Object Interaction

Level: Total newb to Game Maker.  Suitable for programming nubs, also.

Abstract: We're going to make a simple, one-level side-scrolling shoot 'em up using Game Maker and GML.  In this second part, we're going to make some enemies and let you shoot at them!

Introduction

In the last tutorial we made some sprites, and we made some objects.  Now it's time to have them interact.  And by interact, I mean explode.

Create PlayerShot and EnemyBasic Objects

We're going to make a shot object (for the player to fire) and a basic enemy object (which we'll call "oEnemyBasic").  To do this, we'll make two sprites and then attach them to new objects.

For the enemy, though, we're going to do something a little bit different: we're going to make it an animated sprite, with four frames.  To do this, you can add some empty frames (Edit -> Add Empty), or simply copy-and-paste the first frame.  I'm going to make mine a little rotatey thingy.

By default, sprite animations will loop indefinitely.  You can preview the animation at various speeds in the Sprite Editor.  However, you have to set the in-game speed of the sprite in the actual object (see below).

Inheritance