Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411421 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: timothy feriandy

April 18, 2024, 01:35:15 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignBalancing Controls / Feel (platformer)
Pages: [1] 2 3
Print
Author Topic: Balancing Controls / Feel (platformer)  (Read 17974 times)
Loren Schmidt
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« on: November 23, 2008, 05:24:38 PM »

How do some of you folks approach your character movement?

I'm not a programmer, but recently I was faced with the task of cobbling together a movement system for a platformer I'm working on. It's a run and shoot affair, so the movement is more about dodging than acrobatics.

From left to right:
(1) When tapping the jump key, the player performs a small hop, suitable for jumping over mines or quickly dodging over a low projectile. When holding the jump key, the player performs a higher, though still fairly quick, long jump (~3/4 second).
(2) The player accelerates up to the maximum speed quickly, and friction with the ground is high. There is acceleration, but it's fairly toned down. (Max speed is 5 tiles / second.)
(3) Vertical jump distance is 2 tiles, horizontal is 3 tiles. It's possible to jump over pits 4 wide, but the game never requires it.

Air and ground speeds are the same (no bunny hopping).

So what sorts of movement have you used in your games? How did you decide on the final system? What are the technical details of your approach? One thing in particular that I struggled with was getting the variable jump height to work.

For clarity, I pre-emptively suggest that this thread not be about discussing the merits of accelerational versus non-accelerational character movement. This is all I have to say on that topic:
Laremere
Level 5

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2008, 06:42:17 PM »