Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411283 Posts in 69325 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 29, 2024, 04:54:38 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsRekker (WIP TITLE)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Rekker (WIP TITLE)  (Read 2432 times)
ktep
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: January 11, 2014, 04:04:14 AM »

Rekker will be a fantasy side-scrolling action RPG with maybe a dash of a sci-fi theme. Hopefully it stays that way. This will be my first attempt at making a full game by myself. I'm an artist so programming something that doesn't break will be considered a miraculous achievement.

Now that the disclaimer is out of the way...

Here's my current main character design:

For the battle system I'm taking a lot of inspiration from games like Muramasa: The Demon Blade, Dragon's crown, the Diablo and Torchlight series, and The Secret of Mana (USA). I'm keeping things simple tho. There will not be much crazy combos. The main character has only one arm so his fighting style consists of mostly pushing his enemies away / stunning them with his large sword-like bayonet and then shooting them with his gun or just shooting them with his gun in their face. There will be an attack button but I also want to implement a quick action menu that pauses the game when brought up. Here you would be able to choose actions like fire the gun, use items, or cast certain magic. Here is a mockup (ignore the character in the mockups, he is a very old design):

And here's something that I put together to start as my basis for my prototype:

I plan to have a very, very, oh so very terrible prototype of the battle system by the end of January. But I will update as much as possible.

Any helpful hints or suggestions/feedback will be greatly appreciated.   

ktep
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2014, 12:45:58 AM »