Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411423 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 18, 2024, 11:02:04 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Choosing the right engine for a 2D metroidvania style game.
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Choosing the right engine for a 2D metroidvania style game.  (Read 22709 times)
wiggle_waggle
« on: February 04, 2014, 04:20:35 PM »

Hi guys, this is my first post on TIG and I'm hoping that you can help me answer some of my questions.

To quickly introduce myself, I'm an artist working in the AAA industry. Over the past year I've been trying to learn how to create my own personal games.

I've decided start working on a proper project and I'm currently planning to create a pixel art, metroidvania style game that centers around the use of a grappling hook. I have been working on it originally in Unity, but have recently came across some major rendering issues that might force to move to an engine built specifically for 2D games. I've been having a problem with image tearing on sprites that use point filtering and have yet to find a solution to that problem.

I've been researching different 2D engines over the past week and found myself deeply confused as to which one to learn and use. Being used to complete game-making solutions such as UDK, CryEngine and Unity, I'm looking for an environment that comes bundled with some basic tools and features such as:

- level editor that allows for visual placement of objects, actors and tweaking variables inside the viewport and assigning scripts in a fashion similar to Unity

- timeline sprite animation tools

- asset management library

- uses a standard programming or scripting language such as LUA, C#, C++, Python, Action Script etc.