Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411509 Posts in 69375 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 11:46:45 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArtWorkshopUnfinished Game Art: Pipo Edition
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Unfinished Game Art: Pipo Edition  (Read 1878 times)
Catman
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: March 03, 2014, 03:20:59 AM »

Hello people. I am working on a solo project, a 'Settlers'-type game, and I'd like some feedback on the art. Mind you: I am not a graphic artist, but I like to learn new stuff every now and then and this was fun to do!

I chose pixel art since I wanted to try it out and thought it would be a good idea for a game that is supposed to have hundreds of different sprites.

I'll probably look for a pixel artist later, but I'd like to hear some criticism so to know if I did something good (or not). Smiley

For starters, here is a screenshot taken from the start of the game:

You can see the game world, the Pipos, small inhabitants of this world, some buildings, the cursor (in the middle), and various feedback.

I'd like feedback both on readability (I'm trying to push a lot of info in so little space) as well as style. Heck, I'd like any feedback you can throw at me!!
In particular, concerning the whole screen, I have problems trying to figure out how to separate the different things you see neatly, while using as few pixels as possible for all game items. I tried playing around with saturation and contrast, but I have yet to find something that is convincing me.

« Last Edit: March 04, 2014, 05:50:10 AM by Catman » Logged
Catman
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2014, 05:50:37 AM »

Sorry for the double post, but to make the possible feedback more focused, here comes a first, direct, question (I also changed a bit the initial post!).