Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411490 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 05:36:19 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsAnother Roguelike (download now)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Another Roguelike (download now)  (Read 4043 times)
CogentInvalid
Level 0

View Profile
« on: March 04, 2014, 06:54:16 PM »

The game is done! See my latest post for commentary on this startling development.

Download the game here:
Windows version: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/20159697/AnotherRoguelike-win.zip
Mac version maybe forthcoming.

Original post below.

Here's a little game I've been working on for the past two months. It's a rogue-like-like with obvious influences:

Gameplay consists of fighting hordes of enemies through the three layers, three levels apiece, of the dungeon. Each layer adds new enemy types and new challenges. You collect items along the way to improve your odds of survival, and collect missiles that make pretty explosions. The goal is to escape each level before it is flooded, and, ultimately, to defeat the final boss responsible for flooding you out (warning: final boss not yet implemented). And, most importantly, to have fun! (warning: fun totally implemented)

The name "Another Roguelike" is tentative, though dependent on my ability to actually come up with a better name.

Have fun! Or not, I won't judge you.
« Last Edit: September 28, 2014, 01:46:39 PM by CogentInvalid » Logged

Layl
Level 3

professional jerkface

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2014, 07:33:12 PM »

In the demo, I notice that when an enemy isn't in range you can just attack it without it fighting back at all. Also there's barely any communication of what shop items are and what things like green small squares are.