Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411492 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 25, 2024, 04:25:29 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArtWorkshopDon't know what to do with coloring and shading
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Don't know what to do with coloring and shading  (Read 3008 times)
The Sloth Jesus
Level 0

View Profile
« on: June 29, 2014, 06:53:01 PM »

I have this enemy here, and I don't know how to shade it. I am not an artist, but by looking at it I am pretty certain I am doing something wrong. Also is there something I can do better with the coloring.
s-spooky g-g-ghosts
Level 2

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2014, 02:13:18 PM »

That's because you didn't quite grasp the idea of shading. Your dithering is good, but you just don't understand yet where you're supposed to put shadows/highlights are where you're not. Through the shapes of shadows you either make things round or flat (or anything else). It really comes down to understanding the basics.

Really, that's all.

But of course that's just the impression I got. Perhaps you wanted this thing to be shaped the way it is (I mean the shading, not silhouettes). Perhaps it looks weird because it's a green wasp without legs and wings and that will just look weird by default. Anyway, keep trying. Pixel art is like sports – you don't need to be exceptionally talented to be good at it and the only way to get better is to practice.

Glyph
Level 10

Relax! It's all a dream! It HAS to be!

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2014, 03:15:23 PM »