Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411468 Posts in 69368 Topics- by 58422 Members - Latest Member: daffodil_dev

April 23, 2024, 12:53:55 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsZEAL - a space trader
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: ZEAL - a space trader  (Read 2940 times)
whtrbt
Level 0

View Profile
« on: July 22, 2014, 04:18:47 AM »

I'm creating a space exploring/trading game. Minimal, atmospheric, slow paced. Zeal is a working title.

I'm not a good programmer, artist or game designer yet, so constructive criticism is quite welcome.
I'll post screenshots and try to discuss my plans and any difficulties I encounter.

This circle is the player's view from the ship. Controls and information displays for the ship will be arranged around the viewport.
They'll look abstract like bars and arcs rather than representations of actual controls and buttons (the numbers on the side are just debug displays for now.)

I want the game to work for tablet/mobile first and I'm thinking about the best way to control the ship.
The player should be able to freely navigate, but also find it easy to direct the ship to something that catches their eye, or track a moving object.
« Last Edit: December 02, 2014, 04:59:40 PM by whtrbt » Logged

8-Bit Ape
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2014, 04:08:27 AM »

Great concept. With regards to touch controls how about:

• Pan - Drag finger
  • Fast Turn - Swipe
  • Move Forwards / Backwards - Pinch

Looking forward to seeing more!
whtrbt
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2014, 04:39:36 AM »

Yes, I have drag to pan at present. It also causes you to roll to orient your horizontal perpendicular to the direction of pan, which feels more like flying and less like orienting a telescope.
Refer to the above animation for the now inferior telescope nav mode. Smiley