Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411283 Posts in 69325 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 29, 2024, 05:06:03 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallForum IssuesArchived subforums (read only)CreativeWritingShould I change my title?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Should I change my title?  (Read 1574 times)
falldeaf
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: August 27, 2014, 11:39:06 AM »

Hi everyone, I'm new to Tig but I'm almost finished with my demo and I'm hoping to be a contributor here!

I finally figured out a title for my game in progress, and like a jerk I didn't immediately google to see who else had used it. My game is going to be a full length RPG about following your stupid dreams with a pipe-game type puzzle instead of traditional battling. I thought I was really clever when I came up with "Pipe Dream" as a title but yesterday I googled 'pipe dream' and found out that there was an Amiga game that was a simple puzzle game that used pipes too.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pipe_Mania (Originally called Pipe mania) The older game has a pipe puzzle in it but otherwise isn't similar.

So, should I rethink my title and change my title screen?
« Last Edit: August 27, 2014, 12:13:51 PM by falldeaf » Logged
PeteHuf
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2014, 12:44:24 PM »

Welcome to TIGForums! You should make a post to introduce yourself on http://forums.tigsource.com/index.php?topic=45.0

I always associate any type of pipe game with Lucasarts' Pipe Dream. I think I even remember people referring to the hacking sections of Bioshock as "playing Pipe Dream." In other words, I think the name already means something to a lot of people. I think you should pick a different title, at least for search engines' sakes.