Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411526 Posts in 69381 Topics- by 58436 Members - Latest Member: GlitchyPSI

May 01, 2024, 10:55:35 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Rinku & Increpare (and more?) Learn Flash
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 29
Print
Author Topic: Rinku & Increpare (and more?) Learn Flash  (Read 76474 times)
ஒழுக்கின்மை (Paul Eres)
Level 10

Also known as रिंकू.

View Profile WWW
« on: January 17, 2009, 11:11:59 AM »

I've never used Flash before and am going to learn it (in particular, AS3 / Flex) in this thread. I've used other languages before (QBASIC, C, Hamsterspeak, GML). I'll use this to chart my progress and ask any questions of any Flash vets that may be inhabiting the forums.

To start, I've been following these two tutorials:

1. http://www.brighthub.com/internet/web-development/articles/11010.aspx
2. http://forums.tigsource.com/index.php?topic=2630.0

I will update this as I learn more and/or run into problems and to show off any examples I make while learning. I just started the tutorials today and have just been basically copying and pasting the code into the Flex SDK, compiling it, and seeing that it works.

Here's a question: I assume both Flash 9 and Flash 10 use AS3, yes? What's the difference, are there things that will work in Flash 10 but not Flash 9? If so, is it better to make a game in Flash 9 or Flash 10? Does Flash 9 have any limits Flash 10 doesn't? I know this won't matter to me for a while, since it'll probably take me a few months before I can make anything good in Flash, but it'd be good to know for when I get there.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2009, 09:13:07 PM by Derek » Logged

J.G. Martins
Level 2

AKA anvilfolk

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2009, 11:24:14 AM »

Hey there, good luck in your endeavour!