Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411504 Posts in 69373 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 03:55:15 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArtWorkshopRequesting Title Screen Help - Pixel Art
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Requesting Title Screen Help - Pixel Art  (Read 2751 times)
EpicVesselGames
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: November 10, 2014, 06:32:13 PM »

I'm no artist and I'm not sure that I am doing this right. I'm putting together some open source stuff and making some modifications to fit my game's art style. I found a nice looking font to go with a terrific background that fits my game, but the title screen is very important to any game and I would like to do it right.

The game is called Zombie Safe Zone (the developer log thread can be found here) I started with a simple edit. I put the title in my font on the background. The font has a blood effect, and I am coloring those parts in red.

This seems to be the right direction, but from here I am somewhat lost. I feel like it needs to be more robust, have more polish, or look more "finished". I started adding a darker red and giving a black outline to the letters.

The outline doesn't seem right. I like the darker red where the blood would be "thicker" as it slides off the letters. Any help or suggestions are welcome. Thank you in advance for reading.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2014, 06:55:20 PM by EpicVesselGames » Logged

Alicecomma
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2014, 08:54:08 AM »

As creator of the background image I would like to note you the image is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 3.0.

Otherwise, using some colours close to the background palette for the font might work.
EpicVesselGames
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2014, 03:50:00 PM »