Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411508 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 11:01:01 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArtWorkshopGuidance For a Programmer Who Wants To Make Good Art
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Guidance For a Programmer Who Wants To Make Good Art  (Read 1054 times)
Ludius
Level 0

View Profile
« on: November 27, 2014, 07:05:45 PM »

I DON'T KNOW WHAT I'M DOING PLEASE HELP

I've been making games as a hobby on and off for a few years now, and I would really appreciate some guidance when it comes to art. The main obstacle for me when it comes to making new games is my inability to draw. I think I have developed a decent sense of design over time, but I still feel lost when I launch Photoshop. As a result, I am very very limited in what kind of games I can make. The few games I have finished ended up working because the asset load was light, but I would love the ability to make games with environments and characters and whatnot.

EXAMPLES

This is a mock-up of a game I recently started working on and is probably the best example of how my ability falls apart quickly. It is supposed to be an office with a desk, the bottom half of the screen is a desk sorta like in Papers, Please. The room itself, however, just looks kinda meh I think.

This one turned out pretty well (also for the noir game I started recently), but I really only worked with two colors.

This is from my last Ludum Dare game which followed the theme of "the only games I finish are the super simple ones."

This from my most recent "Long term" game. The few models that I managed to make were incredibly simple and actually kinda broken.