Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411283 Posts in 69325 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 29, 2024, 01:05:40 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsShips and Scurvy RPG - GameDev Diary
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Ships and Scurvy RPG - GameDev Diary  (Read 8215 times)
WhiskeybarrelStudios
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: January 27, 2015, 05:24:07 PM »

Good morning fellow game devs!

My name is Oliver Joyce, I'm best known as the creator of the RPG game series Swords and Sandals. I no longer make those games, but I'm still an indie developer with my own tiny label, Whiskeybarrel Studios. Anyway, I wanted to tell you all about a new RPG I'm building, Ships and Scurvy.

I'd describe it as an ocean-based mashup of Rogue Legacy/Oregon Trail/Faster than Light and of course Sid Meier's Pirates. Kind of ambitious but I'm sure it will turn into it's own unique beast.

Anyway, the last month or so I've been writing a development diary of the game ( I'm up to part 4 ) but I'd love for you to have a read and tell me your thoughts on the game so far.

You can read part one here, in which I go through the process of randomly generating an ocean , islands and ships for your world.

http://whiskeybarrelstudios.com/?p=857

Cheers, Oliver Joyce
Whiskeybarrel Studios.

« Last Edit: January 27, 2015, 07:17:17 PM by WhiskeybarrelStudios » Logged
Trilaterus
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2015, 06:02:17 PM »

Wait wait wait woah woah... I played the hell outta Swords and Sandals back in school years ago! Not that I knew I'd be trying to develop myself back then but woah, little lost for words for no reason :P