Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411998 Posts in 69459 Topics- by 58491 Members - Latest Member: Imaynotbehere4long

July 02, 2024, 10:07:56 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperPlaytestingMesisos - Side Scrolling Platformer
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Mesisos - Side Scrolling Platformer  (Read 640 times)
Mesisos
Level 0

View Profile
« on: April 07, 2015, 04:15:58 PM »

Hi, a month ago I started making this game. I'm new to game development and programming, so It was a good challenge. I'm interested in your thoughts on level design and game design.

All of the art assets are temp. I'm currently working on skyboxes.

A,D or Arrow Key to move horizontally.
W, Up Arrow or Space to use Charge("Jump").
There are 28 levels to play through. My goal is to make 50.

Windows Download
Ver.00
RAR - https://mega.co.nz/#!GRJWXTrK!_mAdnUsLBKO0iAYLaIWYmkon74ac6YDEagfApvRXTMQ
ZIP - https://mega.co.nz/#!yZZwCThK!oV-d6sK4M2YCT4gVyJE-CIVj_5d_HtDtq36dMFlKlHY

Ver.01 Changed Gravity Some levels will be uncompleteable until I remake them.

RAR - https://mega.co.nz/#!OV43ELKY!H8Z8Yroj3-fCnyMe9LzorqpcLicaiGwxmbYweqsyZH0
ZIP - https://mega.co.nz/#!eBhBFTKA!X-Rgb82dzTW72B8j-9v1iD1kd_gRQiM2XHItsH0L3iY

Any feedback is welcome.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2015, 02:41:35 PM by Mesisos » Logged
Quicksand-S
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2015, 06:01:24 PM »

My main issue was just with the sluggishness. It takes too long to go from starting the program to actually getting control of the character, partly because the slow zoom at the start of each level takes a while. I know I can press Escape to speed it up, but I shouldn't have to.

The thing I like least is the really, really weak gravity. I feel like half the gameplay is waiting for my character to fall to the ground so I can move on.