Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411504 Posts in 69373 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 05:08:10 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallForum IssuesArchived subforums (read only)CreativeProject Kafka - My assets, need you to criticize !
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Project Kafka - My assets, need you to criticize !  (Read 1949 times)
alfoux
Level 0

Independant French Game Developer

View Profile WWW
« on: May 31, 2015, 02:11:31 AM »

Hello everybody,

I'm working on a game which is half a point and click and half a visual novel. So I've decided at first to do it in a pixel art way but I've decided recently to change because I'm not very good with pixels. So I've designed all my sprites in a vectoriel way. Do you like theses pictures ? No ? Why ? I really need you because I don't know if it works and if not why I've to change.

Thanks

French Indie Developper working on Kafka - Episode 1 : Ravachol. A visual novel/point and click game based on Franz Kafka life. http://raoulgames.wordpress.com/
SeanNoonan
Level 3

For England?

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2015, 06:20:03 AM »

These look like they'd be animated - visual novels are generally static, no?

DanglinBob
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2015, 08:22:27 AM »

I was going to say the same thing - I always feel vector items are best for cartoony animations. If its a traditional P&C usually only a handful of assets ever move (almost all static). A VN virtually nothing is animated.

VNs rely HEAVILY on extremely good art quality and direction for success. P&C focus more on strong thematic art direction. (See Wadjet Eye Games for example of "ok" art but amazing art direction creating a great P&C)

Im a little concerned you're heading into the trap of neither being true Smiley
mrandyjoe
Level 0

View Profile