Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411283 Posts in 69325 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 29, 2024, 05:44:44 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallForum IssuesArchived subforums (read only)CreativeWritingHow to Become a Game Writer
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: How to Become a Game Writer  (Read 1589 times)
FiveStarGeneral
TIGBaby

View Profile
« on: August 22, 2015, 10:50:53 PM »

Hi,
I am a student and aspiring game narrative writer and am wondering what kinds of things I should be doing in order to join game companies like Bungie or Blizzard. I don't mean things like practicing my writing, thinking about world-building, analyzing games, etc (these are a given), but rather stuff I should do to get noticed i.e. sending them writing samples/joining indie projects?
Any advice would be appreciated!
Thanks!
faunsforest
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2015, 05:23:49 AM »

To me it sounds like being a director, kind of. Maybe upon writing a script you can do so to have a linear storyline, believable scenario that can happen in your life. Or maybe you do not want that. Also, you can focus on a lot of subelements. For a more diffuse storyline, seen a lot lately, you can give the player small hints to puzzle together a story themselves. Basing alot on the player him/herself.

As a good practice, try to write different scenarios on paper and pick one. When that is done, try to divide that scenario up and polish the little details.

But I can't say I am good at stories myself. Logically though, that could be good practice.
Jordgubben
Level 2

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2015, 03:42:33 AM »

Maybe even more obvious than the activities mentioned above, but probably the most critical one: Make games with a lot of narrative in them.