Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411504 Posts in 69373 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 04:53:40 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignLet's talk Text-based
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Let's talk Text-based  (Read 2455 times)
Drof
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: December 30, 2015, 04:05:37 AM »

You enter a thread where Drof says 'What if' a bunch

I've had some really good experiences in MUDs and other largely text-based games. But, I was wondering what are the common pitfalls of this area? What really are the reasons this isn't super mainstream? I really want to try to tackle this, but I can't quite put my finger on why I can relax by reading a book, but can't stand a non-visual Choose Your Own Adventure.

If the walls of text were too much on people, what would it be like if the game made sure no description went on too long without player input? Even if it was just a super simple, <Press any key to continue> type deal we see in dialogue boxes for old RPGs?

If the text appeared to disgracefully, what if text appeared character-by-character, developing their own cadence?

If the play was too silent, what if there was music? Sound bytes for each character of the words coming in, atmosphere in the background so that the wind doesn't have to be described in the text? Effects for actions to give them more credence?

If it's annoying to type in a specific command, what if your options were controlled through number keys? Common actions like movement bound to WASD? Discard the need to press enter after entering a command - indeed, getting rid of typing out phrases entirely?

What if the text was formatted and displayed in such a way that they'd be screenshot worthy? So that if someone saw a trailer they wouldn't just say, "Whatever, just a text-adventure. They suck."