Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411490 Posts in 69377 Topics- by 58433 Members - Latest Member: graysonsolis

April 29, 2024, 01:10:55 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Multi-Threaded Python Servers?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Multi-Threaded Python Servers?  (Read 1874 times)
Cranktrain
Level 4

making gams

View Profile WWW
« on: March 19, 2009, 02:45:48 AM »

Hi, (new here :D )

I'm a Python programmer, been playing around with it for half a year now, mainly building small game servers using the Twisted Matrix framework and more recently, the python implementation of the OINC protocol. What fun! I'm mainly wondering how important writing a Multi-Threaded game server is? Let's assume that the game is somewhere between slow turn-based and super-fast-fps type game, and that all logic is performed server-side to keep it nice and secure. Add in the fact that my latest experiment deals with player accounts on an SQLite database, and we can go back to my original question, is a multi-threaded server really important?

My initial tests with 3 or 4 people on the server, quite predictably, didn't slow down my server a jot, but if I was to boost that up to 30 or even 100 players, I might run into problems, right?

I've never ever even touched multi-threadedness in any language, let alone Python, and I've heard it can be quite tricky. But hey, even if I manage to get the network part of it on one thread and the database-ing stuff on another, that must speed things up right?

Responses, advice and sighs of disbelief from fellow Python programmers more than welcome.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2009, 09:12:46 PM by Derek » Logged

george
Level 7

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2009, 07:35:34 AM »