Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1412053 Posts in 69447 Topics- by 58483 Members - Latest Member: Exye

June 22, 2024, 07:35:47 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGamesWhere do I start? (designer looking for coder)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Where do I start? (designer looking for coder)  (Read 1633 times)
markinjapan
Level 0

View Profile
« on: March 26, 2009, 07:59:52 AM »

Ok, so I'm a designer, I've worked in the games industry for over 5 years and now, after making other peoples games, I want/need to make my own. So, can someone tell me how I start?

I'm thinking I need a coder(I can do the rest) to mock up ideas with? I've thought of asking around in the company I'm already in but they all seem to have their own side projects and I'd prefer to work with someone who has fresh thoughts.

Does anyone know where I can start looking? I'd be grateful for any links, etc that anyone can throw my way. I've looked around but it seems every 'dev' webpage has a forum, is there a hub of some kind that everyone knows?

Oh, and if there are any coders here, here's what I'm looking for:

-a coder who knows physics, of the 2d kind, lets start simple.
-lives in or close to london (so we can get together and communicate properly)
-has an interest in making small games (as I said, start small)
-has an interest in game design (someone who will challenge my ideas)
-is serious (i'm deadly serious about this, I've got loads of ideas, I know a lot about
gaming and I want to make games.)
-has the time to spare (I would devote all my spare time to this and I ask the same of you)
-has some demos of stuff they've done (either commercial or private, and I'll show you my work)
-is mature, I'm 36.
-this is not paid work, we would be partners in anything we create.

Thats it.

Thanks for any advice anyone can give.

M.

Hajo
Level 5

Dream Mechanic