Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411507 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 26, 2024, 12:12:43 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperDesignBeat'em ups, brawling, fighting mechanics
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Beat'em ups, brawling, fighting mechanics  (Read 1046 times)
diegzumillo
Level 10

This avatar is so old I still have a some hair

View Profile WWW
« on: March 28, 2016, 09:05:34 PM »

Today I decided to give in to my nostalgia and play some Streets of Rage. This game aged surprisingly well, I actually had fun and finished it. So I'm feeling like rambling about it for a moment. If anyone cares to join me Smiley

Today, as a hobbyist game developer, I couldn't stop thinking about its mechanics while I played. There are plenty of modern beat'em ups. But the formula is pretty much untouched. You have your normal attack sequence and you have the 'grab thing'. I remember that when I was younger I loved the grab thing! I used to lose lives after lives because I pretty much tried to beat the game by grabbing everyone, and the enemies tend to punch you in the face if you simply walk up to them. Somehow punching and jump kicking seemed less elegant to my young mind.

Today I see the appeal of grabbing. It's the variety of things to do while grabbing that I enjoyed. I liked to maximize my grabbing by beating him twice  (not three times because that's a lame finisher), then throw him over the shoulder. OR, to make it even cooler, jump over him and do the cooler finished, that I still have no idea if it has any damage difference.

So now I want to make a beat'em up exploring all the possibilities of grabbing. Maybe use some physics simulation and allow the player to swing the enemy against the ground or use it as a shield against other enemies.