Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411423 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 06:05:55 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Need some help with beginner trigonometry/vector stuff
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: Need some help with beginner trigonometry/vector stuff  (Read 1273 times)
Eendhoorn
Level 6

Quak

View Profile
« on: April 11, 2016, 11:20:32 AM »

I'm stuck on some absolute beginner math  Cry

I have the follow situation;

I need to know the X coordinate of R, the coordinate Y is already known, it's the same as P, as my game is aligned vertically.

My first instinct was to project vector AP onto AB (result C). And then take the normalized vector for AB and scale it with C's magnitude to arrive at R. but I realised that gives incorrect results, because the projection is aligned to AB's normal.

(projected vector visualized in orange dashes).

Basic vector math is about the only thing I can do, but I think it won't get me anywhere.

I found some solutions online, but they all just show a fomula (I have trouble reading those) and they never really give an explanation why it works that.
I could do a line intersection as well, but that stuff seemed even more complicated  Tongue

If someone could explain a solution to me like I'm 5 that would be great  Beer!
« Last Edit: April 12, 2016, 02:35:06 PM by Eendhoorn » Logged

oahda
Level 10

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2016, 12:51:23 PM »

I have one solution, but on the basis that you always know y and that you always draw a horizontal line. However, you can probably still apply this if you rotate the triangle by a rotation matrix first, to make the line horizontal again (or vertical, if you want).