Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411505 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 09:11:13 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperAudioLet's Talk Reverb
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Let's Talk Reverb  (Read 1297 times)
Kyle Preston
Level 2

View Profile WWW
« on: April 16, 2016, 01:07:59 PM »

So the two basic types, convolution (impulse response) and algorithm. I've been using Logic Pro's Space Designer (convolution) for years now - I love it, and have yet to encounter a reverb situation where I'm left wanting.

Recently, I started looking at some of the higher end verbs, Altiverb (convolution) and 2CAudio (algorithm) mainly, just to see if there's anything I might be missing out on. 2CAudio lets you demo their stuff freely, which is awesome, so I started playing around with b2. And after a few hours, I'm honestly not seeing what all the fuss is about.  I was really excited initially, to find a moderately priced, beloved beastly reverb, but I'm beginning to think that algorithm reverbs, in spite of all their 'modulation' magic, are just okay. In terms of functionality, space designer does everything b2 does (eq control, depth, filters, etc) and you can use your own impulses, which is SO much fun. And several of the b2 presets feel pretty unnatural to me, which I guess could be cool if your music needs that. But I don't know, there's something inauthentic about it and I can't quite put my finger on it. Possibly some Pavlovian reasoning involved. Would love to play with Altiverb but it's so damn expensive.

What are some of your reverb preferences? Any tools you swear by?

cynicus
Level 0

hey

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2016, 03:04:44 PM »

I love a bit of reverb talk  Smiley