Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411507 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 26, 2024, 07:14:20 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusiness[Diary of a Steam Noob] Our First Full Steam Release - Ask Me Anything
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [Diary of a Steam Noob] Our First Full Steam Release - Ask Me Anything  (Read 1818 times)
joe_eyemobi
Level 3

Fledgling Indie Developer

View Profile WWW
« on: April 16, 2016, 09:27:38 PM »

Hey guys,

Intro
I’ve been inspired by a lot of other forum members in the past including their willingness to help the rest of the community.  I just wanted to do the same in the hopes that my humble information might help and inspire other devs who were at the same point I was a couple of years ago.

I’ve been bungling my way through the whole process, feeling like a complete noob most of the time, but I learned a ton along the way.

Background
A couple of years ago I did a game jam, which seemed to garner a bit of interest, and I ended up working on it further, and posted up here for feedback. https://forums.tigsource.com/index.php?topic=39267.msg1029153#msg1029153

Since then the game has been through Steam Greenlight, Early Access and now it’s just been released Fully into steam.

The game itself is a survival horror roguelike (or roguelite) with Lovecraftian themes based in the Kowloon Walled City http://store.steampowered.com/app/342550/

I had no idea what to expect once we hit Full Release - but so far it’s selling more than zero which has been my only hope Smiley

Lessons Learned
I plan to do an even more in-depth analysis in future, but for now I’ll give you the highlights of what I learned:

Early Access