Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411512 Posts in 69376 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 07:19:11 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)Best programming language and software for game designer?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Best programming language and software for game designer?  (Read 1128 times)
Vitta
Level 0

View Profile
« on: April 29, 2016, 01:07:40 AM »

Hello guys,
I want to start designing games for digital platforms - PC, mobiles, consoles and since I dont have professional programmer at my disposal I want to start programming my game concepts myself.
So I want to ask you which language is the best for me to learn when I am complete beginner? I want to learn programming at "decent" level so I can start out and make my own games but when a "bigger game" time will come, I will definitely group up with some great programmer.

I heard that for a decent level programming "simpler" languages are : Java, JavaScript, C#, GameMaker Language
The big plus for this languages is that they are mostly used by popular game engines like: Unity, GameMaker ...

I want to be able to programm a game myself because I heard that noding game actions in GameMaker is not a way to go in order to be versatile game designer but on the other hand I dont see need in learning complex C++ or Delphi in order to make games...

Is there a good "middle way" for me? From what language I will benefit the most in terms of versatility? (If I would have to turn on the other language in process)

Thank you so much
bateleur
Level 10

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2016, 01:20:51 AM »

My recommendation would be to start with C# and Unity.

Two reasons: