Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411480 Posts in 69369 Topics- by 58425 Members - Latest Member: solpreston

April 23, 2024, 09:21:50 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessHow Do You Find Funding?
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: How Do You Find Funding?  (Read 5220 times)
Peevish
Level 4

View Profile WWW
« on: April 03, 2009, 11:27:45 AM »

I mean, I know the first answer is "you probably won't." But still.

When I was a film major in art school (sooooo different from being a film student, I've learned), all the teachers' eyes would glaze over when the "finding money" part of the class came up. We'd even have producer's come in and sort of dance around the subject, saying they "found some sources in San Francisco," but never mentioned, you know, HOW to call someone, WHERE to find someone, WHAT to put in your presentation, HOW to write a contract. Like they thought it was boring or something.

I know at least a few indie developers have gotten funding, but it's mostly the same story as to how. I recognize it may be boring, but seriously: do you take out a small business loan? do you apply for grants? do you talk to other businesses about investing in you? I know you Canadians are probably given half a million by the government and a weekly stipend of jellybeans and free health care. What's a Yankee to do?
ஒழுக்கின்மை (Paul Eres)
Level 10

Also known as रिंकू.

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2009, 11:39:25 AM »

I don't get funding, but I do know that Tale-of-Tales gets some grants from various art institutes. If you are creating artistic/experimental games (and not just retro 2D platformers or something) that may be something to look into.

Chris Z
Level 7

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2009, 11:41:14 AM »