Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411281 Posts in 69324 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 10:48:37 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)And for my first post....
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: And for my first post....  (Read 742 times)
SynPDX
Level 0

View Profile
« on: May 05, 2016, 05:19:59 PM »

Hey everyone... I'm hoping to become a regular here and make a few new friends. I'm very new to pixel art, as a matter of fact, I've never drawn anything, well for decades at least.

I'm a product of the 16 bit generation.... Sure I had the Atari 2600 when I was really young, but when Nintendo came out with the NES, I was nine years old. When the Super Nintendo came out, I had both the Super NES as well as the Sega Genesis. This was my time! The time of Altered Beast, and Super Mario World! Best generation EVER!

I have been interested in game development ever since. In my "adult" life, I'm a desktop virtualization engineer (Citrix XenDesktop, and VMware Horizon View). I've always made the excuse that I don't have time to learn this stuff. I'm 38 years old now, and damnit, I'm making time!

I want to become a pixel artist, and I want to create my own platform game. I have some C# experience, not the most but I can get around. I have a little Unity experience, not the most but I can get around..... I have no pixel art experience.

So let's be friends? =) add my on google hangouts if you are a noob, or a more experienced person that wants to mentor =)

My setup:

1. Purchased Cosmigo Pro Motion
2. Purchased a Wacom Intuos Comic

My first (of many) question(s) is hopefully simple.