Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411480 Posts in 69369 Topics- by 58426 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 23, 2024, 09:29:04 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)How to implement mouse picking with ray casting?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: How to implement mouse picking with ray casting?  (Read 1254 times)
gwartney21
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« on: May 06, 2016, 01:21:12 AM »

I have been looking all over for how to implement ray casting. I was wondering if any one out there could help me out with how to implement this or some actual recourse on it that is not outdated. I am using c++ with glfw for my window to rendering things in. I appreciate the help guys.

My name is Alex Gwartney I am currently a college student attending online classes at University of Phoenix. I am pursuing my associates degree in computer science with a concentration in Software Development.
gwartney21
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2016, 01:43:58 AM »

I was also wanting to know will ray casting work for a 2d plane?

My name is Alex Gwartney I am currently a college student attending online classes at University of Phoenix. I am pursuing my associates degree in computer science with a concentration in Software Development.
Polly
Level 6

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2016, 02:27:23 AM »

It's actually pretty simple. There are 3 things you need to do ...

- In a vertex shader you generally calculate the homogeneous screen coordinates ( gl_Position ) of a vertex by multiplying it with a modelViewProjectionMatrix. For mouse-picking you do the exact opposite. You already know the homogeneous screen coordinates of the mouse, but you want to know the corresponding coordinate ( ray origin ) in your 3D / 2D world.