Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1301954 Posts in 58019 Topics- by 49090 Members - Latest Member: baybayman

June 25, 2017, 07:27:10 pm

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessPortfoliosHOFFY: a chiptune composer
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: HOFFY: a chiptune composer  (Read 1032 times)
HOFFY
Level 0

View Profile WWW Email
« on: May 14, 2016, 01:52:31 am »

Hi everyone! My name is John Hoffman, and I'm a chiptune composer from Canada. My specialty lies in working with tracker programs such as LSDj and Famitracker to compose songs that sound like they came from games on the Gameboy or NES. If I had to describe my musical personality in one word, I would say "progressive", as I take my extensive musical theoretical knowledge and cultured ear to make unique, catchy music that invites audiences to listen over and over.

Completed Portfolio
  • "THE LIFE AND TIMES OF WHISKERS MAHONE" is a full-length chiptune album that musically summarizes the life of a beloved pet that I had to put to rest in May of this year. In this album, you'll hear prog rock, jazz and cinematic influences that seamlessly combine to paint a unique sonic experience you will NOT find anywhere else.
  • "BOUNDARYMEN VOLUME 1" is part one of a duology that's essentially a love-letter to the retro games of my childhood. Or at least, it started out that way before I felt it needed to also stand apart from the games that influenced its composition (Mega Man, Castlevania etc). By combining my progressive rock tendencies with jazzy chord progressions, I feel I've achieved that.
  • "FLIGHT OF SHIRODEYARU" is a sprawling, epic single that ties into the Boundarymen duology. Moving through multiple time signatures and musical motifs, it stands as my longest and most favorite chiptune composition to date.
Musical sketchbook