Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411275 Posts in 69323 Topics- by 58380 Members - Latest Member: bob1029

March 28, 2024, 07:47:43 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsPlayerGeneralso I want to do a startup
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: so I want to do a startup  (Read 466 times)
dao cowboy
Level 0

View Profile
« on: May 16, 2016, 10:45:10 AM »

I have an idea I've been kicking around/refining for several years--sort of an auction site.  I don't want to do something as complicated as eBay, but for the purposes of this post, imagine I'm talking about eBay.

I don't know how to code this.  I'm not totally code illiterate:  I once wrote a ~600 line C++ program that seemed to do what I wanted it to do.  But I'm not good at coding by any estimate.  I know the best idea would probably be to learn how to do everything myself.  I might end up doing that, but I'd like to see if I can recruit coders first.

I no longer know anyone who actually works with code.  I was thinking about putting an ad up on craigslist--not sure if that's a good idea. 

The reason I'm posting is because I want to know what technical skills I need to look for in recruits.  By answering that question, you'll also inform me on what I would need to know about if I ended up doing it myself.  I mean, I've heard of things like Ruby on Rails but that is the extent of my knowledge in the matter.

I will appreciate any response.

Edit: I'm researching the financial/legal aspects of startups; I'm posting this to learn about the technical side.

I have books for sale on Amazon.  Search for "Peter van de Welde."
NoLocality
Level 1

AssetsAssetsAssetsAssetsAssets...

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2016, 11:26:13 AM »