Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411512 Posts in 69376 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 07:44:54 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)[Game Maker] creating a moving platform [SOLVED]
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [Game Maker] creating a moving platform [SOLVED]  (Read 1906 times)
Sokafootball
Level 0

View Profile
« on: May 23, 2016, 03:46:54 AM »

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner game maker developer.

I am trying to create a moving horizontal platform for a platform 2d game in Game Maker.

I did some research and many developers use marks to stop the object from moving and changing its directions.

While i understand this perfectly works, i still want to understand why my code is not working.

In this example the platform should move between a space of 128 pixels at 2 pixels per step, with the center of that space being the x coordinate at the spot of creation.

My platform object has 2 events

------------------------

[Create]

///Speed, distance to travel and starting direction
movespeed = 2;
movedirection = 1; //choose starting direction, 1 for right -1 for left
traveldistance = 64;
startingx = x;

[Step]

destination = startingx + traveldistance * movedirection;
while (x != destination)
{
x += movedirection*movespeed;
}
movedirection *= -1;

-------------------------

What happen is that once the game starts the platform is blinking at ridiculous speed between the two edges of that 128 pixels space.

I am not sure, but it seems it's not just moving very very quickly, but it's actually teleporting back and forth.

Thanks for any help,

Laurent
« Last Edit: May 23, 2016, 10:14:32 AM by Sokafootball » Logged
ThemsAllTook
Administrator
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2016, 06:42:12 AM »