Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411492 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 25, 2024, 05:13:03 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessLegal ramifications of pitching or showing off a game
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Legal ramifications of pitching or showing off a game  (Read 719 times)
crusty
Level 2

View Profile WWW
« on: May 25, 2016, 11:50:00 AM »

I've been working on a game in relative secrecy for a year and a half.  Turns out making games is pretty hard and I estimate it'll take another year and a half to finish.

Before I commit that kind of money I want to get some feedback.  I plan to start a devlog here and I also thought I would send out some pitch documents to game publishers.  I realize getting funding is probably a long shot as the game is unfinished and I have no proven experience, but perhaps I will get some valuable feedback from a marketing perspective.

My question to you, the business thread, is what sort of rights (if any) I jeopardize by putting this thing out there / pitching it to publishers?

For example, here's a link to Adult Swim Games' submission agreement.  Can anyone translate that for me?  Is there anything I should be afraid of?  What can and can't they do with the materials I show to them?

Caravan: devlog | website
doghouse
Level 0

VR dev

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2016, 09:11:58 PM »

This is a common concern with people that have an idea for a product and you could probably find plenty of information on the Internet that will answer your questions.