Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411478 Posts in 69369 Topics- by 58424 Members - Latest Member: FlyingFreeStudios

April 23, 2024, 07:38:20 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)My game pixel art progress is really slow. Any tips and work habits to share?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: My game pixel art progress is really slow. Any tips and work habits to share?  (Read 3061 times)
AssembledVS
Level 0

View Profile
« on: May 27, 2016, 05:03:56 PM »

My background is in fine art - drawing and painting with an abstract and experimental bend. I have always been slow when making work, although everyone almost always liked the end result.

About a year and a half ago, I began full-time work on a game, which entailed learning game programming, learning Unity, and learning pixel art. It is very different from physical studio work and took quite some time until I started liking what I was making.

I am working on a top-down RPG similar to A Link To The Past, using tiles and pixel art for the game art. The art progress is really slow. I could be working a building in my game for several days, and the art is not that big (native resolution is 640 x 360, 32 px tile size).