Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411512 Posts in 69376 Topics- by 58430 Members - Latest Member: Jesse Webb

April 26, 2024, 06:09:10 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsVO-EM: Virtual game console running in a virtual machine running in my PC
Pages: [1] 2
Print
Author Topic: VO-EM: Virtual game console running in a virtual machine running in my PC  (Read 3231 times)
voidSkipper
Level 2

View Profile
« on: June 09, 2016, 11:20:54 PM »

I don't know if this really belongs here.

Because it's not a game, per se.

I've always been the type to roll my own engine and reinvent the wheel. When I tried to go pro as an indie the year I graduated highschool, I quickly realised that the more time I have, the more time I waste reinventing wheels. It became quickly apparent that I don't actually like making games that much, I just like making wheels.

At the moment I have a lot of free time at work and I've decided to waste it reinventing another wheel, this time for hobby reasons instead of out of delusions of pro-dev-ism.

So I designed a game console. It's kinda like the GBA with less buttons. Then I built an emulator for it. In Flash.

Here's the emulator running a little overworld test I wrote... The sprites are straight out of Pokemon Ruby, because I wanted to stare at something other than programmer art while testing it.

I have a proprietry-ish (it's like the gameboy but modified for 15 bit colour) image format for the GPU, so I wrote a converter for it. But then the freeware tile editor I was using got annoying, so I ended up reinventing the wheel and now I have a whole tile and palette editor studio, complete with assembly exporter.