Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411430 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 08:50:40 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityTownhallForum IssuesArchived subforums (read only)CreativeCommunity-support is not the main factor
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Community-support is not the main factor  (Read 3186 times)
mirosurabu
« on: April 11, 2009, 11:51:31 AM »

In the past, I believed that what can keep my motivation to finish long-term projects is community support and knowing that what I am working on is going to be successful.

But, today, when I have support from small-sized community and know that what I've been working on for two years is not going to fail in any way, my motivation to finish the project is so much lower than in the past.

Simply, I am burnt out, I am not as interested in that game as I was before, and no matter support and even money I can get I don't see it finished any soon.

So, how money-first indies deal with this kind of issues? I have no idea.
I_smell
Level 5

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2009, 01:15:26 PM »

Community support was good for me until I get about 700 reviews for a game that either say EPIC WIN, EPIC FAIL or IMA FIRIN MA LAZER.
That community don't know shit.
ஒழுக்கின்மை (Paul Eres)
Level 10

Also known as रिंकू.

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2009, 02:18:34 PM »

A team helps -- are you working alone? I find the games I work on with others get done, the games I work on alone don't.

mirosurabu
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2009, 02:31:09 PM »

Yes, I am working alone on BOM. And I agree with you regarding teamwork - I've been working in team previously and it's much easier to motivate yourself regardless of whether the thing you are working on is something you'd choose to do for yourself/alone or not.