Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411498 Posts in 69373 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 25, 2024, 08:21:49 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArt (Moderator: JWK5)Animating a selfie... Seriously...
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Animating a selfie... Seriously...  (Read 872 times)
oldblood
Level 10

...Not again.

View Profile
« on: July 22, 2016, 09:42:18 AM »

I'm still pretty new at Spine, but I've been thinking about the idea of trying my hand at animating a single photo or sprite and attempting to "bring it to life". Finally got around last night to giving it a go. Thought I'd chronicle my first attempt and see what feedback or suggestions I get for future attempts...

To get started, I ran the selfie through a Prisma filter to give it a more painterly and gamey feel. I trimmed out the background, and cut out the eyes from the image so that I could layer the eyes and pupils for independent movement behind the eye-lid. I had to repaint the eyes after separating the pupil, but it only took a few minutes to get it all edited and into Spine.

Once in spine, I setup the image as a mesh and proceeded to add almost 500 vertices to it. I haven't done much in the form of mesh deformation so I'm sure it could be vastly improved:

Image as mesh. Eyes and pupils layered below face.

After that, was just a matter of using mesh deformation to adjust the image as needed to create a pretty basic breathing animation loop. Some of the challenges I hit as I went were:

1. Glasses. They have glare. Not ideal for meshes.
     2. A picture with wider eyes is better.
     3. A picture where you mouth was agape would allow for the mouth opening & closing.

Here is a close-up of my flaring nostrils and eye movement after putting together a pretty basic breathing loop: