Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411506 Posts in 69374 Topics- by 58429 Members - Latest Member: Alternalo

April 25, 2024, 10:18:00 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsCommunityDevLogsCold Nights (A wilderness-survival based roguelike)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Cold Nights (A wilderness-survival based roguelike)  (Read 1170 times)
Kakapio
Level 0

View Profile
« on: September 06, 2016, 07:33:02 PM »

Hey guys!
I'm a fairly experienced developer that's been programming for a bit over 1.5 years. As such, I decided to start my first serious project a few weeks ago. I intend to see this game through and sell it once it is polished and fully functional.

Game Concept
The basic idea of the game is that you're stranded in the wilderness, and need to survive for as long as possible while fighting off creatures of the woods (Creatures from cryptozoology). I plan on having a health, hunger, and warmth mechanic. I did want to emphasize survival, but did not wish to take it to the extent of a game such as The Long Dark. I plan to have some elements of Don't Starve, such as mineable resources and some forms of magic.

What I Have Done So Far
So far, I have implemented a framework of the movement system along with an inventory that I am still working on. The movement system could be considered complete, but I feel as though I have not spent enough time on it polishing how its "feel". I have also finished the hunger system, although I could put some more work towards making it less linear. The inventory is essentially complete, but has yet to be tied in with equipping items and varying types of usable objects (swords, pickaxes, guns, bows). As I am a new programmer, it takes me much longer than normal people to implement these things (I am, however, proud that I am able to solve these problems on my own  Smiley)

Here are some gifs:

Movement: