Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411490 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58428 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 10:34:14 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperTechnical (Moderator: ThemsAllTook)[SOLVED] image_speed question
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: [SOLVED] image_speed question  (Read 611 times)
jabcog
Level 0

View Profile
« on: October 02, 2016, 09:12:55 PM »

Hi everyone

I'm kinda new to coding and have picked up a game jam game my friends and I worked on (I did the art) and I'm trying to add a little bit of code that adjusts the animation speed depending on which animation cycle is playing.

At the moment the code looks like this:

Code:
if (xspd == 0)
{
    image_speed = 0.2;
}
else
{
    image_speed = 0.3;
}

But if I add this simple if statement above it and indent it, the animation starts playing 10x faster, looks buggy and doesn't actually respect the values in the code. Here it is:

Code:
if image_index = walk_sprite {
    if (xspd == 0)
    {
        image_speed = 0.2;
    }
    else if (xspd > 0)
    {
        image_speed = 0.3;
    }
}

Does anyone have an idea what might be causing this?
« Last Edit: October 03, 2016, 01:15:54 AM by jabcog » Logged
alvarop
Level 9

ignorant

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2016, 10:47:25 PM »

I haven't touched game maker in a while so i might be wrong but doesn,t image_index just refer to a specific frame ?

i make games that can only ever be played once on http://throwaway.fun
Grhyll
Level 2

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2016, 11:11:00 PM »

Never touched Game Maker at all, but shouldn't the comparison in your first if be "==" instead of a single "="?

Programmer at The Game Bakers
3-50.net
Current project: oQo
jabcog
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2016, 11:17:44 PM »