Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411430 Posts in 69363 Topics- by 58416 Members - Latest Member: JamesAGreen

April 19, 2024, 04:18:02 PM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperBusinessHow much money should I ask for a game development from a publisher?
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: How much money should I ask for a game development from a publisher?  (Read 2150 times)
Colin_Charteris
Level 0

View Profile
« on: October 03, 2016, 01:55:15 AM »

Hi all!

I'm a software developer from Russia. I've developed a demo-version of a 2D point'n'click adventure game in my spare time. Now I want to offer it to the game publishers hoping they'll fund the further development of the game. I understand, that each case is considered separately, but maybe there is something like a more or less standard indie adventure funding range?

It would be a shame to ask for a completely minimal sum (in my case it's $2000) which will cover only the most necessary expenses and will lead to reducing the amount of levels/animations/etc just in order to not scare off the publishers, while those publishers may consider both $2k and $20k as not such a big deal in both cases (I think that $20k is a maximum amount of money that I'll need).

Also what do you think about my $2-20k range? Maybe $2k is too small in any case, and $20k is too much for an indie-adventure?

Thanks beforehand for your answers!
quantumpotato
Quantum Potato
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2016, 06:09:36 AM »

Well.. how much $ do you need to finish the game?

Colin_Charteris
Level 0

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2016, 04:31:03 AM »