Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Advanced search

1411486 Posts in 69371 Topics- by 58427 Members - Latest Member: shelton786

April 24, 2024, 10:46:00 AM

Need hosting? Check out Digital Ocean
(more details in this thread)
TIGSource ForumsDeveloperArtWorkshopCritique my artstyle
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Critique my artstyle  (Read 2539 times)
Tuba
Level 10

View Profile WWW
« on: October 13, 2016, 03:24:41 PM »

I'm a programmer and while I can't find an artist, I'm making my own art for my game,

Some honest feedback and some tips for improvement would be appreciated. Smiley

woodsmoke
Level 4

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2016, 04:57:13 PM »

It's okay, but I find the art-style is missing character.

- the colours are too saturated, especially in the background.
- eye line size is inconsistent to the rest.
- you could add more little things going on, small details.

Zorg
Level 9

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2016, 12:16:54 AM »

I do not like the fine lines for the details either. Everything looks drawn, but the details look "constructed". The art makes me smile, somehow i like it. :D

You could simply drop lines where you don't need them (like you already did with the beard and hair tips). And maybe use some gradients?

« Last Edit: October 20, 2016, 12:51:28 AM by zorg » Logged
Fridgecrisis
Level 0

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2016, 09:30:51 AM »

I think you've got a good thing started here! I like the bright colors and simple shapes. It kinda reminds me of Wind Waker, which I love. That said, my suggestion for improvement is to look at the art from Wind Waker / Phantom Hourglass and see what it does. For example...